Remove this ad

Lead

Aug 5 16 6:50 PM

Tags : : ,

Hello all, 

My name is John Cheshire and I'm a 3D designer certified in Solidworks, as the Ada hand was developed using blender this poses a few problems importing into solidworks, whilst you can work from STL files it's really not worth the hassle, so i'm going to start from scratch and try to eliminate as many of the hardware challenges you've listed along the way, such as silicone grips, adjustable tensioners etc, I will of course try to maintain the sleek look of your original design. I own two ultimaker 2s, a form 2 and a form 1+, so I will be posting updates of my progress as often as I can. As of yet I haven't purchased any of the components and for the time being I will be working off the provided dimensions in PDF's, any infomation and other dimensions that could be provided would be greatly appreciated, as well as any one elses ideas or input are most welcome.

Looking forward to working with you all.

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Aug 8 16 7:46 AM

Hello all, this weekend i've put a couple of ideas together, firstly implementing a middle section that allows you to slot on ABS/PLA finger sections and also silicone grips, doing this will also greatly reduce the amount of Ninjaflex you have to print with, this will allow you to print the entire palm in abs/pla also, which should bring costs down. The ninjaflex skeleton was designed so you can print it flat down without need for supports. I also added a tensioner idea on the end of the finger tips too, nothing has been tested as of yet, awaiting the arrive of some ninjaflex for my printers. Welcome any feedback, ideas and concerns.

In the meantime you can download the pdf design here (just a quick concept model)
https://view.publitas.com/p222-10736/left-hand-index-pdf-1/

Last Edited By: JohnCheshire Aug 8 16 7:55 AM. Edited 1 time.

Quote    Reply   

#2 [url]

Aug 8 16 10:09 AM

Hi John,